It’s been awhile! Choo Choo!

June 24, 2010

 

I know I know. Its those lazy summer days. Having a full time job doesn’t really give much time for baking and cooking and decorating and…it just leaves me tired a lot of times.

An old childhood friend’s mom is a great seamstress. Back in May I was in a wedding and Linda, Jessie’s mom, helped with a dress that was too big. She was so kind to do the dress for me and did such an amazing job. To pay her back I made Jessie’s son Jeffery a cake for his birthday this month.

Deciding what you want to do for a young child is always fun. I saw a model of a train topper on www.cakejournal.com and wanted to make it and I really hoped trains would be okay. Sure enough, a train cake was made!

 

Now, I don’t have any other photos and this one itself is from my phone. I hope you can see the bigger part of the cake, but this is the backside since the fondant doesnt look so clean. =| I realized what I could’ve done different now to fix that.  The top layer is a white cake and the bottom layer is all chocolate. The entire cake has buttercream frosting.

Jay helped tremendously on this cake. I was rather sick while making it and having his help made the night go much smoother, even though he had pink hands for a few days.

Leave a comment