This ain’t no monkey business

October 31, 2009

Happy Halloween!!

I’ve really been lacking in seasonal desserts on here. Maybe my November will be more festive filled. After I finished this recipe, I thought of a new way to make it seasonal. I’ll include that in this post as well.DSC03298

There is something about this delicious bread that makes people go… well bananas! Maybe that’s why it’s called monkey bread. That must be it.

This recipe is nearly fool-proof. Really. Use too little or too much, it all turns out okay.  It’s so simple.  I changed it up a little bit. Here is what I did.

DSC03257

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon (heaping)
  • 2 cans of large biscuits
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup brown sugar (firmly packed)
  • 3/4 cup butter

And then I also added these items which are optional

  • 2-3 apples (or any type of dried fruit you like use about the same amount of walnuts)
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg

You will also need a fluted/bundt pan

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350
  2. Lightly grease the pan and set aside
  3. In a bag or a sealable bowl mix sugar (not brown), cinnamon, and nutmeg
    DSC03269
  4. Separate dough and cut into quarters.

    DSC03268

  5. Place into the sugar mix and coat thoroughly. You may have to do this in increments. I like to give it a nice tossing action. =) Pull them out and set aside.
  6. Peel the apples and cut them up. Each time I have done this I also have sugar mixture left over. So I thought, why not? I may as well add the apples to the mix. So i tossed the apples in them too!! Extra cinnamon taste!DSC03275
  7. Arrange the dough pieces in the pan in one layer, then adding nuts and apples. Continue this step until you run out of dough.
  8. Melt butter and then add the brown sugar.
  9. Now pour over the biscuit dough. In the oven it’ll melt all though the biscuits and make it super moist and tasty of course!!
  10. Bake 28-32 minutes or until top its lightly golden.
  11. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes.DSC03295
  12. Find the plate you want to serve this on and turn the pan upside onto it to serve it.

This is always best served warm!

If you are hopping around and yelling like an ape, don’t blame me! It’s the bread!!DSC03298

But for the seasonal aspect of this, why not add pumpkin into it? how can we do that? Well… you can salt some pumpkin seeds and add them instead of walnuts. Oh yum! Maybe take out the apples too. But that’s no it. I’d take 1/2 cup or so of pumpkin puree and add it to the butter mix and pour that over top instead. Oh I will have to try that! I probably won’t post it, but I’ll let you know if it’s any good!

Leave a Reply

