Few ingredients, Full flavor!

January 17, 2010

These past couple weeks have been birthday filled! I have baked so many things, but yet I didn’t load them. Maybe I’ll save them for a rainy day. Any-who… Here is my newest birthday creation.

Soft Sandwich Cookies

I love these cookies. Usually I like to make them with red velvet cake mix and fudgy brownie mix combined. This maybe just one of the simplest, easiest recipes I’ll ever put on here.

Ingredients

1 Box dark chocolate cake mix, or any other cake mix you’d like (you do not need whatever is called for on the box of this cake mix.
1/2 Cup butter (1 stick), softened to room temperature
2 Eggs

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix ingredients until combined.

Using a 1/2 tablespoon, roll batter into balls and place on baking sheet.

I used different cookie sheets. One is my brand new one I got for Christmas! =) The other is rather old, so to make sure my cookies come up easy, I used parchment paper. I love that stuff. Really. Place them a couple inches apart.


Bake for 12 minutes. These are the kind of cookies you smell when you bake them. You know they are done or close to it when you smell them!


Cool.

Cool.

Do you see this other gift? My cooling racks are stackable!

Icing

Ingredients

3 tbs milk

2 tbs butter, softened

2-3 cups confectioners sugar

Vanilla flavoring to my likening

Directions

Place milk and butter in bowl.


I’ll be honest. I don’t have milk, but I do have coffee creamer (the liquid kind) and whipping cream. I added these and it turned out just amazing! Just think! There are so many creamer flavors. You can make so many different flavors of frosting!!

Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time. Blend well with a mixer. Remember, you want the frosting to be nice and stiff because it will be sandwiched between two cookies.


Place icing on the bottom, flat side of one cookie.


Place another cookie on top, flat side down, and press together until the cream flushes with the sides.


Simple enough right? I hope you really try this one out. It so quick and easy.

Leave a comment