Finally, Grape Cupcakes!

March 17, 2010

I have been dying to make these for months. I knew as soon as I got my bake it pretty gift card, I was buying grape flavoring, and a large round icing tip. To add to that, I bought purple cupcake liners to match.

Grape Cupcakes

I really do love these. They’re is something super good about these small things. And do you see how vibrant the liner still is? It stayed so bright after cooking! I’ll be returning to bake it pretty.

I made this from a vanilla bean recipe but left out the vanilla beans this time.

Ingredients

Yields about 50 mini cupcakes

1 stick of butter

1 cups sugar

2 large eggs, room temperature

1 3/8 cups flour (use a 1/8 cup)

3/4teaspoons baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup milk

1/2teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 grape extract from Bake It Pretty

Directions

Preheat oven to 350

Beat butter until nice and fluffy.

Add sugar and beat until well combined. Do I ever have all the ingredients I need? Nope. So I used 1/2 C sugar and 1 C of powdered sugar.

Add eggs and of course, beat.

In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder and salt.

Add milk and vanilla.

Add the dry ingredients you mixed in a separate bowl slowly.

Lastly, add grape flavoring!

Well, I didn’t want my cake to be kind of purple, so I went ahead and added purple food coloring.

Scoop batter into cupcake liners. My mini muffin pan was missing temporarily, but these liners are so sturdy they stood up fine.

Cook for 15 minutes on 350.

Let cool on a wire rack. Let the power go out. Wait…what? Yeah, the power went out after I had already lined and filled the next set of cupcakes. I eventually went and hung out with Stephanie and we baked, and ate cupcakes, at her apartment.

Once they were all baked, I stored them in the freezer, sealed with saran wrap. and foil. Then I let them sit out to thaw before icing them.

Now,I’d be lying if I pretended everything turned out perfectly. I would tell you what I did to ice these cupcakes but I messed up badly. It was fine, but I got gutsy and tried to add more cream cheese after it was done. I really wanted to finish these, so I went and bought pre-made frosting. I like cream cheese store bought icing anyways. Just like I like my slice and bake cookies better than any homemade cookie.

See this icing? I even had to strain it to get the lumps out. I just wasn’t happy. To Kroger’s I went.

Now this icing tip is the one I was talking about. Its huge!

After icing them, I put lilac sugar peals (also from bake it pretty) on the tops and stored them in an airtight container for BCM.

Oh, and this tag…

It’s from Bake It Pretty too.

3 Responses to “Finally, Grape Cupcakes!”

  1. Connie Says:

    Hi, I would like to know for your grape cupcakes if you could specify how much grape flavoring to use. It says 1/4 but doesn’t have a unit unless it was suppose to mean 1/4 of the bottle that is bought from Bake It Pretty. Please reply back soon!


  2. […] Grape Flavored Cupcakes Made with Grape Extract […]

Leave a comment